Tips for Natural Hair Care By Lovelyne Toussaint

Do you love and embrace your curls but find it hard and expensive to maintain them? Are you looking for answers? Truthfully, no one has answers that will specifically benefit YOU because we all have different types of textures, and curl patterns which makes us all so uniquely beautiful in our own different ways.  Being natural is a long process of trial and error, but with a little faith and research I’m positive you’ll find the best methods that work for you. Throughout my hair care journey I have gone  through the transitioning stage, to the big chop! Along the the way I have stumbled across some techniques that keep my curls healthy and beautiful and they may just work for you too!  Here are my top five tips and ideas that can help you maintain, nourish and truly embody your curls! I love my natural hair, I hope you love yours too ♥

1.) Co-Wash, Co-Wash, Co-Wash!!!!!

Co-washing is an easy way to clean and condition your hair all at once. You know how when you wash your hair and you shampoo twice and then condition last? With a co-wash you skip the shampoo step all together and just condition. The trick is to get a Co- wash product such as As I Am Coconut Co-Wash ( my favorite) that really cleans and conditions your hair without any sulfates or left over residue. Usually I Co-Wash Once or maybe twice a week, and Shampoo ( with sulfate free shampoo) once a month. Co-washing makes Wet n Gos a breeze!!! Try it, you might love it as well!

2.) Always read and understand ingredients listed on the product.

You wouldn’t eat something new without understanding where it comes from or what it contains would you? Trust me your hair deserves the same type of treatment. It is imperative that you read and understand the type of ingredients that you are putting in your hair especially when it comes to shampoos and conditioners. Try to avoid : Sodium Lauryl/Laureth Sulfate (SLS, Parabens (Methyl, Propyl, Butyl and Ethyl), Lanolin, Petroleum and Mineral Oil (especially in conditioners and moisturizers),Propylene Glycol, and Alcohol. READ BEFORE YOU BUY or you will become a product junkie, just like me!

3.) Moisturize, Moisturize, Moisturize

Moisture is essential to the natural growth and consistency of your hair. There are a lot of  products out there that you can use to effectively moisturize your hair, and keep it that way. The main ingredient to avoid when looking for a moisture regime are: Lanolin, Petroleum and Mineral Oil these products are cheap ado not moisturize your hair in any way. Instead look for products that contains: Glycerin, Aloe Vera, Jojoba Oil, Shea Butter, Olive, and Coconut oil. My favorite is Knot Free conditioner from Kinky Curly and Coconut Colada from Curls.

4.) Protective styles are great!

Over time I have found that my hair grows and flourishes after rocking  a protective style after a day or two.  Styles such as Twits outs (flat twist outs are wonderful), and braid outs are great ways to enhance your curl pattern and really make those curls pop. You want to add a leave in conditioner to you hear so it can stay moisturized. There are a lot of  YouTube tutorials that walk you step by step on how to create beautiful protective styles, check it out!

5.) Water is a must!

Water is the ultimate moisturizer. Not only does it work on the outside of your body, it works from the inside, too. If this is the first ingredient listed on products, that’s a good thing. Drink a lot of water and watch your hair grow, don’t be afraid to use lots of water on your hair as well

Until Next time,

XoXo -Love ♥

About simplylove93

Ghandi once said "Be the change that you want to see." I try to fulfill that to my greatest potential. I Love to laugh & I'm full of life & love. I am blessed, kind and smart.. I am essentially me! Feel free to comment :)

Leave a Reply

